Green Day - 1,039 Smoothed Out Slappy Hours album cover

Release Year: 1991, 2004 (remastered), 2007
Label: Lookout!, Reprise/Warner (re-release in 2007), Epitaph (European re-release)
Producer: Andy Ernst, Green Day

1,039 Smoothed Out Slappy Hours is now considered by most the first official full length album released by Green Day. The album 39/Smooth was first released in 1990, and then combined with the 1,000 Hours EP and their second EP, “Slappy”, to create what came to be known as 1,039 Smoothed Out Slappy Hours. The album also contains one more track at the end called “I Want To Be Alone”, which was originally released on a compilation called “The Big One” that was put out by Flipside Records.

It’s important as a guitarist to realize that at the time these recordings were created, the band didn’t care much for guitar tuners. Even when in the studio, it was common practice for Green Day to just tune to each other until it sounded good enough. Although most of the songs on 1,039 Smoothed Out Slappy Hours are not in any standard tuning, they are pretty much all somewhere between E and Eb tuning. Unfortunately you won’t be able to play along (and still have it sound decent) unless you take the time to tune to the music exactly. For the sake of “chording” this album, we have interpreted them as if they were intended to be tuned to E natural.

Track Listing:

  1. At the Library
  2. Don’t Leave Me
  3. I Was There
  4. Disappearing Boy
  5. Green Day
  6. Going to Pasalacqua
  7. 16
  8. Road to Acceptance
  9. Rest
  10. The Judge’s Daughter
  11. Paper Lanterns
  12. Why Do You Want Him?
  13. 409 in Your Coffeemaker
  14. Knowledge
  15. 1,000 Hours
  16. Dry Ice
  17. Only of You
  18. The One I Want
  19. I Want to Be Alone