Green Day - Nimrod album cover

Release Year: 1997
Label: Reprise/Warner
Producer: Rob Cavallo, Green Day

While Dookie may have been the album that exposed Green Day to the masses, it was Nimrod that demonstrated their previously unknown versatility and took them from being a pop punk sensation to being legitimized as artists. It also let the world know they weren’t going anywhere any time soon. To date, Nimrod has sold over 5 million copies worldwide.

Critics that had taken to labeling them a “three-chord band” (which is absurd) were caught off guard when Green Day released this 18-track powerhouse of an album which contained songs that borrowed from metal, ska, and even surf rock along with incorporating the signature Green Day sound.

The four singles released from Nimrod were: Nice Guys Finish Last, Hitchin’ a Ride, Redundant, and of course, the chart-topping mega-single, Good Riddance (Time of Your Life). As of this writing, Good Riddance itself has sold in excess of 2 million copies.

Here you will find the links to each song so that you may thoroughly learn the chords, and then go forth and rock out:

  1. Nice Guys Finish Last
  2. Hitchin’ a Ride
  3. The Grouch
  4. Redundant
  5. Scattered
  6. All the Time
  7. Worry Rock
  8. Platypus (I Hate You)
  9. Uptight
  10. Last Ride In
  11. Jinx
  12. Haushinka
  13. Walking Alone
  14. Reject
  15. Take Back
  16. King for a Day
  17. Good Riddance
  18. Prosthetic Head

Note: Unlike previous albums, Nimrod was recorded in standard E tuning.